The 2009 Online Journalism Awards are now closed for entries.

Presented by the Online News Association, in partnership with the University of Miami’s School of Communication, the OJAs are emblematic of the best in online journalism.

This year, changes have been introduced to acknowledge the important role of emerging technology, the influence of the independent digital journalist and the growth of community reporting efforts. Six awards now come with a total of $30,000 in prize money, courtesy of the Gannett Foundation and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, and the General Excellence in Online Journalism Award has expanded to include “micro sites.”

The OJAs are the only comprehensive set of journalism prizes honoring excellence in digital journalism. Past winners have included major media, international and independent sites and individuals producing innovative work in multimedia storytelling. This year’s honorees will be announced on the final night of ONA09, the Online News Association Conference and Awards Banquet, Oct. 1-3 in San Francisco.

The 2009 OJAs include work first published between June 1, 2008 and June 30, 2009. The categories for 2009 are:

For more information on award guidelines, categories and the entry site, please see: